The Magic Toyshop

I’m currently reading ‘The Magic Toyshop’ by Angela Carter – and let me tell you I LOVE IT! The imagery is incredible, and the story equally so. I won’t go into details as I’ll probably forget something (the synopsis is here if you’re interested): http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Magic_Toyshop

Most of all what I love about this book is how it combines a childlike beauty – descriptions of toys and puppets and beautiful things – with a destructive sense of love and sexuality. It is both creepy and yet completely mesmerising. Everything I want in a book!

It’s definatley given me some drawing ideas.

Grace xxx

Leave a Reply

