Castle Howard

So after a long weekend in Yorkshire and over 500 pictures later – I’m back home from my trip. Castle Howard was every bit as beautiful as it is in Brideshead Revisted, if not more so. Even if Brideshead isnt real, just standing before Castle Howard makes you understand just a little bit more why Charles’ desire to possess the estate overtook everything else. The idea of coming so close to such grandeur and beauty and having it within your reach would be toxic at a place like that. Theres so much elegance to take in, from the architecture to the fountains, the statues, grounds and the delicate interiors. It certainly made the perfect Brideshead.

I’ll be posting some of my pictures over the next few days – starting now with some exterior shots of the house and grounds.

(above – the mausoleum from a distance. It actually had no public access… but climbing a few fences and crossing some fields solved that. It was too beautiful to miss)

‘Temple of the Four Winds’

Grace xxx

2 thoughts on “Castle Howard

  1. These are stunning. I hope you don’t mind but I have snagged the fountain one for my desktop.
    Love BR – my most read book & this will make me smile everytime I boot up.
    I’ve not made it to Castle Howard yet but these pics have encouraged me to do so even more; thank you for sharing.

    1. Thanks so much! I don’t mind at all – its probably one of my favourite places in England to visit, especially as you feel like you’re in Brideshead as soon as you see it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

